September 27, 2023

2023 World Cup stadiums announced

FIFA has announced the 9 host cities and 10 host stadiums for the 2023 Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

Australia and New Zealand will host the 2023 Women’s World Cup. Here is FIFA General Secretary Fatma Samoura and FIFA President Gianni Infantino (Photo credit: Ben Moreau/FIFA via Getty Images)

New Zealand will have four host cities with one stadium being used in each city, while Australia have five host cities and six stadiums.

“The appointment of the 9 Host Cities represents a major milestone for the next FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023, as well as for players and football fans across Australia, New Zealand and around the world,” FIFA President Gianni Infantino said.

The cities and stadiums are:

  • Adelaide – Hindmarsh Stadium
  • Auckland / Tāmaki Makaurau – Eden Park
  • Brisbane – Brisbane Stadium
  • Dunedin / Ōtepoti – Dunedin Stadium
  • Hamilton / Kirikiriroa – Waikato Stadium
  • Melbourne – Melbourne Rectangular Stadium
  • Perth – Perth Rectangular Stadium
  • Sydney – Stadium Australia and Sydney Football Stadium
  • Wellington /  Te Whanganui-a-Tara – Wellington Stadium

Auckland to host opener

It was also announced that Eden Park in Auckland will be the place for the opening match, as well as one semi-final. The Final will take place in Sydney.

Both Australia and New Zealand will also host one semi-final each with the full match schedule for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 to be announced later this year.

“It is a privilege to co-host the FIFA Women’s World Cup in 2023 with Australia and we look forward to welcoming the world’s best athletes and their supporters to Aotearoa New Zealand,” said Johanna Wood, President of New Zealand Football.

About Author

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.