March 24, 2023

The OFC announced that New Zealand will host the 2020 edition of the OFC Nations Cup, as well as the qualifying date and place.

OFC logo
(Photo credit: OFC Media)

The 2020 OFC Nations Cup is set to be held from June 6th to 20th, with the Kiwis hosting for the first time in 18 years.

The All Whites are reigning champions of the tournament.

As is the norm, eight teams will automatically qualify for the tournament. New Zealand, Fiji, New Caledonia, Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Tahiti and Vanuatu will all enter the Group Stage.

The Qualifying Stage will be hosted in Rarotonga, Cook Islands, between March 21st and 27th. The teams featuring there will be the hosts Cook Islands, as well as American Samoa, Samoa and Tonga.

The OFC says that exact timings and groups for the Group Stage will be made at a later unspecified date.

It is not known whether the tournament will be used as part of the 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers, as it has been previously.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.